Amazon — Market. Power! Monopoly? Documentary Debuts On X

Liz Morton
Liz Morton


Comments

Founder and CEO of educational toy company Viahart, Molson Hart, announces debut of Amazon — Market. Power! Monopoly? documentary on Twitter/X December 17.

Tomorrow at 1 PM, I am releasing a documentary about Amazon, here on X.

The documentary shows how Amazon uses its size and power to raise prices.

If you shop online, whether its on Amazon or elsewhere, this affects you.

So please, watch, and share the documentary.

And if you're an Amazon seller, and you're tired of your products being suspended by Amazon because they were cheaper somewhere else, please do what you can to get the word out. We are all sick and tired of Amazon's pricing policies.

About the making of this documentary:

It is difficult to get critical documentaries made about Amazon.

First, sellers must sign a contract wherein they promise not make public statements about Amazon.

Second, Amazon itself is one of the largest purchasers of film media with Prime Video.

It's hard to make a documentary when participants fear that it could end their business or career with one of the most powerful companies in the world.

I am taking that risk because I believe that what Amazon is doing is wrong.

It is my hope that this documentary's release pushes Amazon to end the policy which raises prices for consumers and drives its sellers mad.

I did not have any editorial direction for this film. I acquired the rights and I'm putting it out there for the world to see.

I hope you like it.

Amazon — Market. Power! Monopoly?

World Premiere on X

Sunday, December 17th, 2023

1:00 PM New York Time
6:00 PM London Time
11:30 PM Mumbai Time
3:00 AM Tokyo Time
10:00 AM Seattle Time

Hart is no stranger to the subject of how Amazon policies drive up costs for consumers - a blog post he wrote in 2019 on the topic lead to Congressional Testimony for the Committee on Small Business.

Amazon’s Pricing Policies Promote Inflation — Molson Hart
The state of California has sued Amazon in what may be the biggest antitrust case for 25 years, when 20 states joined the US Department of Justice to sue Microsoft. These cases revolve around whether consumers are harmed by the company’s actions. The case against Amazon focuses on their pricing poli

These policies are also cited as part of the "anti-competitive pricing" allegations in the FTC's antitrust suit filed against Amazon in September.

FTC Hits Amazon With Antitrust Suit Alleging Illegal Monopoly Power Stifles Competition
FTC files long awaited Amazon antitrust suit alleging monopoly power inflates prices, degrades quality & stifles competition.

Tune in to Market. Power! Monopoly? on X today.

Or catch the YouTube premier:

Let us know in the comments below what you think of the documentary and Amazon's pricing policies!

AmazonSeller Updates

Liz Morton Twitter Facebook LinkedIn

Liz Morton is a seasoned ecommerce pro with 17 years of online marketplace sales experience, providing commentary, analysis & news about eBay, Etsy, Amazon, Shopify & more at Value Added Resource!